Skip navigational links

Is Your Hospital Prepared for the Next Emergency?


Thursday, September 30, 2010
1:00-2:30 pm Eastern (12:00-1:30 pm Central; 11:00 am-12:30 pm Mountain; 10:00-11:30 am Pacific; 9:00-10:30 am Alaska; 7:00-8:30 am Hawaii)
Co-sponsored by the Public Interest Committee and the following Practice Groups: In-House Counsel (In-House); Life Sciences (LS); Medical Staff, Credentialing, and Peer Review (MSCPR); Payors, Plans, and Managed Care (PPMC); and Teaching Hospitals and Academic Medical Centers (TH/AMC); Hospitals and Health Systems (HHS)


When an emergency, whether it is a flood, hurricane, fire, or act of terrorism, hits a hospital, administrators often turn to their lawyers as issues arise in providing care. This webinar introduces AHLA’s Public Interest Committee’s Emergency Preparedness Toolkit, which provides a one-stop resource of emergency preparedness form policies, procedures, links, articles, sample contract language, and legal summary memoranda to assist healthcare attorneys, administrators, and providers in preparing for and responding to the issues that arise during an emergency.

In this webinar, the speakers will provide an overview of emergency preparedness law and then discuss regulatory and operational real-life emergency scenarios your hospital may face. For instance, if out-of-state healthcare professionals are providing emergency assistance, do they need to be licensed, and what type of liability coverage is available? Is your hospital prepared for a loss of power? Does your hospital have enough food, medication, and supplies on hand? How will patients be evacuated from the hospital? What certification and accreditation requirements are required or waived? What policies do you need in place with area providers? How will patients be identified, medical information be documented and electronic information be shared among providers? The AHLA Emergency Preparedness Toolkit is an invaluable resource to help address these and many other issues that your hospital could face in an emergency.



 Share with friends!


 Registration Details


  Webinar is FREE for first 50 AHLA Members who sign up!

$25 per webinar registrant thereafter.

Those wanting to pay by check please use the Printable Registration Form

(Please note new check payment deadline)


Continuing Legal Education (CLE)

CLE information will be provided to registrants at the URL where you access the materials. Find out more information on CLEs for webinars.

© 2014 American Health Lawyers Association. All rights reserved. 1620 Eye Street NW, 6th Floor, Washington, DC 20006-4010 P. 202-833-1100 F. 202-833-1105