AHLA, American Health Lawyers Association
A A A
Home  |  Sign In  |  Contact Us  |  Job Bank
AHLA » Health Law Resources » Public Interest » Public Interest Webinars Leading health law to excellence through education, information and dialogue

In Public Interest Webinars:

Public Interest SeriesExpand Public Interest Series
Convener SessionsExpand Convener Sessions
Public Interest Webinars
Pro Bono – DO GOOD
Support Public InterestExpand Support Public Interest
 

Point/Counterpoint: The Future of SCHIP After The Inconclusive 2007 Congressional Debate 


Health Lawyers' Winter 2008 Conversations with Policymakers Teleconference Series
Thursday, January 24, 2008
2:00-3:00 pm Eastern (1:00-2:00 pm CT; 12:00-1:00 pm MT; 11:00-12:00 noon PT)
Sponsored by the American Health Lawyers Associations Public Interest Committee

Teleconference Description

Funding for the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) expired on October 1, 2007. Through a series of continuing resolutions and a temporary extension through April, 2009, Congress has temporarily put aside a long term reauthorization of the program. The inconclusive 2007 debate over the program was a microcosm of the larger national debate over health reform: the proper role of government in providing health care and health care access; how much should the government spend and regulate in the health care arena; and what is the role of the private health insurance market in health care.

These issues are still very much in the forefront. Our panelists will describe:

  • The current structure of SCHIP and how it is similar to and different from Medicaid;
  • The main legislative packages considered by Congress and vetoed by President Bush in 2007;
  • The President's arguments for vetoing the SCHIP expansion legislation; and
  • The counter-arguments to the President's action.

Speakers:

  • Ryan Long
    Chief Minority Health Counsel
    House Energy and Commerce Committee
    Washington, DC

  • Sara Rosenbaum
    Harold and Jane Hirsh Professor and Chair of the Department of Health Policy
    George Washington University School of Public Health and Health Services
    Washington, DC

 


 
Related Resources
© 2014 American Health Lawyers Association
1620 Eye Street NW
Washington, DC  20006-4010
Phone: 202-833-1100   Fax: 202-833-1105
FAQ  |  Privacy Policy  |