AHLA, American Health Lawyers Association
A A A
Home  |  Sign In  |  Contact Us  |  Job Bank
AHLA » Health Law Resources » Public Interest » Public Interest Webinars Leading health law to excellence through education, information and dialogue

In Public Interest Webinars:

Public Interest SeriesExpand Public Interest Series
Convener SessionsExpand Convener Sessions
Public Interest Webinars
Pro Bono – DO GOOD
Support Public InterestExpand Support Public Interest
 

National Healthcare Decisions Day 2008: the Law, the Talk and the Care 

Wednesday, March 19, 2008
2:00-3:00 pm Eastern
(1:00-2:00 pm CT; 12:00-1:00 pm MT; 11:00-12:00 noon PT)

Teleconference Description

As part of its Public Interest mission, AHLA is one of many national organizations participating in promoting the first National Healthcare Decisions Day (NHDD) to be held on April 16, 2008. The goal of NHDD is to help Americans understand that making future healthcare decisions includes more than deciding what care they would want or not want. NHDD will leverage participating organizations' efforts and commitment to increase awareness of the benefits of advance care planning; rally a national media campaign about how to access various resources; and mobilize national, state and community organizations, healthcare providers and other key stakeholders to initiate outreach and educational activities.

This important teleconference focuses on strategies by which our members as well as physicians, social workers, and other professionals can assist clients and their families in facilitating conversations relating to advance planning. It features nationally renowned faculty as the panelists.

Click here to download a PowerPoint presentation of the material covered by the teleconference.

Speakers

  • Ira Byock, M.D.
    Director of Cancer Survivorship and Palliative Care at the Norris Cotton Cancer Center, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center and bestselling author of The Four Things That Matter Most, Dying Well and A Few Months to Live.
  • William Colby, Esq.
    Senior Fellow, Law and Patient Rights, the Center for Practical Bioethics. Mr. Colby represented the family of Nancy Cruzan in the first right-to-die case heard by the U.S. Supreme Court. He is also the author of two critically-acclaimed books, Unplugged: Reclaiming Our Right to Die in America and Long Goodbye: The Deaths of Nancy Cruzan.
  • Elizabeth Clark, Ph.D.
    Executive Director, National Association of Social Workers, the largest membership organization of professional social workers in the world with over 150,000 members.
  • Nathan Kottkamp, Esq., Moderator
    McGuire Woods, LLP, AHLA Member and Chair of NHDD who has lectured and written extensively on the subject of advance directives.

 
Related Resources
© 2014 American Health Lawyers Association
1620 Eye Street NW
Washington, DC  20006-4010
Phone: 202-833-1100   Fax: 202-833-1105
FAQ  |  Privacy Policy  |